Philippe Simon's Collection

British West Africa

British West Africa was the collective name for British colonies in West Africa during the colonial period, either in the general geographical sense or the formal colonial administrative entity. The United Kingdom held varying parts of these territories or the whole throughout the 19th century. From west to east, the colonies became the independent countries of The Gambia, Sierra Leone, Ghana and Nigeria. Until independence, Ghana was referred to as Gold Coast.

West African Currency Board 20 Shillings 14/09/1934 series: C7 310255 grade: XF- cat: 8 comment: May be a counterfeit (forgeries) banknote. Observe : Palm tree. Reverse : Twenty schillings in arabic script. added: 4 months ago